Skip to content

General

12 results found

1. Export maps as a vector file not as a jpg

As a graphic designer I think it would be great if a map of a specific area could be saved as a vector file so it can be edited in Illustrator.

9 votes
    Vote

We're glad you're here

Please sign in to leave feedback

Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    How important is this to you?

We're glad you're here

Signed in as (Sign out)

I’d love to be able to add this support but unfortunately this all depends on Google adding this feature. We don’t have access to any of the vector information through the API and can’t do any exporting of it.

Hopefully Google will add this feature in the future!

2. Build a Google Earth Plugin or Allow for Exporting of High-Res Images

As an architecture student, these are fantastic. However, I'd really like to be able to export portions of stylized maps as high resolutions images (well, I'd love to have vector files, but I understand that's a Google limitation). Is there any way to do that?

I know that Google Earth Pro allows for the export of high-res images; maybe a snazzy map plugin for Google Earth would work? Or maybe it'd be easier to implement the function independent of building a whole plugin, I don't know.

6 votes
    Vote

We're glad you're here

Signed in as (Sign out)

We're glad you're here

Signed in as (Sign out)

We are only able to style maps currently because Google has a feature to do so via their JavaScript API. While I’m not too familiar with Google Earth, I haven’t been able to find any documentation on how to style their maps. If you know of any documentation please let me know and I’ll take a look at it!

As for the high-res output, Google doesn’t support this through their JavaScript API, so there isn’t much we can do :( We get a lot of requests for this but it’s simply not possible at the moment.